Home  •  Morgan County  •  The Chamber  •  Our Members  •  Helpful Business Links  •  Visitor Info  •   Contact Us
Automobile Registration
Building Permits
Business Licenses
Clubs & Associations
Cultural Activities
Driver's License
Event Room Rentals
Financial Institutions
Health & Community Care
Hunting & Fishing Licenses
Law Enforcement
Local Government
Mail/UPS/Western Union
Marriage License
Recreation & Entertainment
Senior Services
West Virginia

West Virginia

The state of West Virginia was born out of the Civil War, created from the western part of the state of Virginia. It became the 35th state on June 20, 1863, now the state holiday.

West Virginia covers 24,282 square miles and has a population of 1,808,344 (2000 census).

Official State......
motto - Montani Semper Liberi,"Mountaineers are always free"
flower - rhododendron tree - sugar maple
bird - cardinal animal - black bear
fruit - apple fish - brook trout
colors - old gold and blue

Capital - Charleston, chosen by popular vote in 1877. The Capital building, on the banks of the Kanawha River, boasts the largest capitol dome in the U.S. It was designed by Cass Gilbert.

The West Virginia Constitution is based on that of the United States. It establishes three branches of government.

The governor is elected for a four-year term; may serve an unlimited number of terms but no more than two in succession. Current Governor: Earl Ray Tomblin, Office of the Governor, State Capitol Complex, 1900 Kanawha Blvd, East, Charleston, WV 25305; 1-888-438-2731; e-mail: Governor@wvgov.org

Current State Senators: Donald Cookman at donald.cookman@wvsenate.gov or Charleston office 304-357-7980 & Craig Blair 304-357-7867 or email at craig@craigblair.com

House of Delegates/51st District: Daryl Cowles at daryl.cowles@wvhouse.gov or Charleston office 304-340-3177 & 52nd District: Larry Kump 304-340-3122 and larry.kump@wvhouse.gov

The legislature is divided into a Senate and House of Delegates. Each of 17 senatorial districts elects two senators for six-year terms. Each delegate district elects delegates for two-year terms, the number based on population. The legislature has one 60-day session annually.
All judicial officers are elected.

Federal Officials:

U.S. Senator Joe Manchin III., 306 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510. 202-228-3683.

U.S. Senator Jay Rockefeller, 531 Hart Senate Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 202-224-6472; Regional Office at Suite 121, Martinsburg Federal Building, 225 West King Street, Martinsburg, WV 25401. 304-262-9285.

Congresswoman Shelley Moore Capito, 2366 Rayburn Congressional Office Building, Washington, D.C. 20510 202-225-2711; Regional office at 300 Foxcroft Avenue, Suite 102, Martinsburg, WV 25401. 304-264-8810.

West Virginia has the highest average altitude (1500') of any state east of the Mississippi. Highest altitude - 4860' at Spruce Knob in Pendleton County; lowest is Harpers Ferry - 247' .

Geographical Center of State- Braxton County

1-800-CALL WVA is your personal toll-free connection to information about travel in West Virginia. Ask about bed & breakfast inns, camping, fall foliage tours, highway maps, lodging, skiing, state parks, whitewater rafting.... any travel related topic. Reservations for state parks and other attractions may be made through this number.

West Virginia is located in the Eastern Standard Time Zone and observes Daylight Savings Time.

Speed Limit: Interstate speed limit is 65 unless otherwise posted.

WV Division of Highways provides roadside assistance to stranded motorists on all interstate & Appalachian corridor routes; call toll free 1-888-359-3683 or *SP (cellular).

Child Restraint Law: All children under the age of three years must be secured in an approved child safety restraint seat. All other children under the age of nine years must be secured by a seat belt. Adults are also required to wear a seat belt.


Contact Us   •  Join the Chamber  •  Newsletter  •  Economic Development

Berkeley Springs - Morgan County Chamber of Commerce  •  127 Fairfax St., Berkeley Springs, WV 25411  •  (304) 258-3738